Top 5 Players to Win the Highest Number of Ballon D’Or

Ballon D’Or, an individual award, has given based on one year’s best performance. Since 1956 the best performer of the world football got this exalter award. Stanley Matthews was the first time winner of Ballon D’or in1956. While Leo Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo were the nominees of highest 12 times.

Let’s look at some players to win the highest number of Ballon D’Or.

Lionel Messi:

Lionel Messi is the record six times Ballon D’Or winner. He first won this Individual award in 2009, and then 2010, 2011, 2012, he won Ballon D’Or four consecutive times. Leo then won Ballon D’Or in 2015 & 2019. He is also a current Ballon D’Or winner. He also took the second position five times and took the place of the third position in 2007.

Cristiano Ronaldo:

Cristiano Ronaldo has won Ballon D’Or for five times. CR7 won Ballon D’Or in 2008, and then he won Ballon D’Or in 2013, 2014, 2016 & 2017. He also took place in the second position of six times and took the third position in 2019.

Michel Platini:

This French Mid-fielder won Ballon D’Or for three times. In 1983,1984 & 1985, he won this award for three consecutive times. Platini also took the third position two times in  1977 & !980.

Johan Cruyff:

Johan, the Netherlands forward, played for FC Barcelona and many famous clubs in his club career. He was the three-time Ballon D’Or winner. He won this award in 1971, 1973 & 1974. Cruyff also took the position of third place in 1975.

Franz Beckenbauer:

Franz Beckenbauer, a German Defender, played for FC Bayern Munich. He won Ballon D’Or for two times in 1972 & 1976. He also took place in the second position for two times and third position in 1966.

Winning Ballon D’Or always makes a player unique, and it is a great honor for him to win this award.


Recent Post